Thank you to all the wonderful Quilters at Craft Warehouse in Gresham!

Yesterday I had the pleasure of speaking to two groups of quilters at the Craft Warehouse in Gresham, Oregon.  What a fun and talented bunch!  If anyone thinks sewing is easy, you head over there and look at some of their work – wowza!  I was invited to the two “Quilt Parties” to talk about the design process.  If you were one of those women, thank you for letting me join you for the day!Picture 21

I design fabric for South Sea Imports and I’m told my fabric can be found all over the US as well as Australia, New Zealand and I believe parts of Europe.  Usually I’m coming up with ideas from my studio and brainstorming with the office in California.  I do sneak out and look through different stores that sell fabric from time to time.

But having the chance to interact with the people who are really using the product, asking what they like, what colors they want, what themes they wish they could find… that is some valuable information! I had a long discussion about what makes or breaks different “basics” groups (those textured fabrics that come in a rainbow of colors and can be used as background or fillers with all sorts of things).  I took a poll about some ideas I have been tossing around for a new collection and got feedback… and I had a great time!

Today I am back in my studio with new ideas swimming around in my head.  I asked the women who won or bought my fabric to send me a photo of something they use it on to post on my blog… hopefully they will!

If you live in Oregon, Washington or Idaho  and haven’t discovered the joy of a Craft Warehouse store, CLICK HERE and see if there is a location near you.  This family-owned store is a mecca for the creatively inclined!  I’ve never met a Craft Warehouse I didn’t like!

Now it’s back to the studio and back to creating wonderful new fabric collections for quilters everywhere to enjoy.

– Tara

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

