Taking my “trunk show” to Craft Warehouse in Gresham, Oregon!

Today I dusted off my sewing machine and got busy! I used to sew a lot… as I sat piecing fabric together I remembered buying my Pfaff… it was about 12 years ago when my son was little and I needed to upgrade my machine.  It was a MAJOR investment and I remembered all the curtains my neighbors commissioned me to do to help pay for the machine.  So worth it!  I still love it today although truth be told, I don’t have the time to craft & sew that I used to!  Now I spend most of my time painting and designing collections to license – one of my favorite categories being FABRIC!

MidnightMonsters-CraftWarehouseAdHow fun to sit at my machine all day, sewing MY OWN fabric. *Pinch me* I still think this whole art licensing career is too good to be true!  All kidding aside, I work very hard but I am passionate about what I do so it makes the work seem more like playing…

This coming Thursday, July 16th, I will be talking to two quilt clubs at the Craft Warehouse in Gresham, Oregon. One meeting is at 11 am and the second is at 7 pm.  You are welcome to come — they are located at: 604 NW Eastman Pkwy. (Division & Eastman) in Gresham, OR 97030.  If you need directions you can call (503) 661-0574.

I will be talking about how I design fabric – from initial concept to putting the patterns together to getting my samples to play with! When I talked to the clubs in Aloha the quilters had great questions and amazing quilts to share – I am in awe of their talent!

When I was talking with the coordinator she asked if I had a “trunk show” – I will admit to not knowing what she was talking about.  She told me it was samples of things made with my fabric.  That’s why I got out my machine – I was inspired and figured it was better to get busy the week before than the week after.  So you will see some things I’ve whipped up (the bag below is one project I finished today), as well as a few quilts a friend did.

So if you are in the area, come on by! If you aren’t but like this fun Halloween Fabric, ask for it at your local quilting store or look online for “Midnight Monsters” from South Sea Imports.  You can also CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD A PROJECT SHEET.

Halloween will be here before you know it so find your black, green and orange thread and start your sewing machines…

– Tara

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Taking my “trunk show” to Craft Warehouse in Gresham, Oregon!”

  1. Rosaland Says:

    Tara,

    I believe I’ve seen your fabric in quilt stores here in Arizona. I’m wondering if you’ll be recording your talk up in Oregon? I would love to hear it. I have had a dream about designing fabric for a long time. I really need to start learning some things about licensing. I have designs in my head all the time.

    • artisttarareed Says:

      Rosaland – I’m not sure if I’m recording the talk yet… it may depend on getting someone to come with me. I’ll keep you posted!

      Tara

  2. vickie Says:

    I too would be very interested in your talk…you are such an inspiration and I have many of your products and they are helping me reach my goal of licensing my art.

    Have a wonderful time at your trunk show and talk!

    blessings,
    vickie

Leave a Reply

